The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) is the Nation’s risk advisor, working with partners to defend against today’s threats and collaborating to build a more secure and resilient infrastructure for the future.

CISA provides extensive cybersecurity and infrastructure security knowledge and practices to its stakeholders, shares that knowledge to enable better risk management, and puts it into practice to protect the Nation’s essential resources.

Mission Priorities


  • Federal network protection
  • Comprehensive cyber protection
  • Infrastructure resilience and field operations
  • Emergency communications



On November 16, 2018, President Trump signed into law the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency Act of 2018. This landmark legislation elevated the mission of the former National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD) within the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and established CISA, which includes the National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC).

Prior to the establishment of CISA, NCCIC realigned its organizational structure in 2017, integrating like functions previously performed independently by the U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) and the Industrial Control Systems Cyber Emergency Response Team (ICS-CERT).

What We Do

In support of the CISA’s cybersecurity mission, NCCIC acts a hub for information and expertise. We are a global exchange for cyber and communications information, sharing what we receive back to the cybersecurity community.

NCCIC provides a year in review to the public for the opportunity to better understand our accomplishments and how we have progressed during the past fiscal year.



How We Help


  • We build risk awareness and help people understand how to mitigate threats and vulnerabilities.
  • We help customers take action to improve their risk posture and support a common operational picture of the national cyber and communications risk landscape.
  • We defend federal networks and respond to significant incidents.
  • We are here for our partners and customers when they need help. We vigilantly defend the Federal Government’s critical networks and stand ready to respond to attacks on both government and private sector networks.


Critical Mission Activities


  • Information exchange, 
  • Training and exercises,
  • Risk and vulnerability assessments,
  • Data synthesis and analysis,
  • Operational planning and coordination,
  • Watch operations, and
  • Incident response and recovery. 


Frequently Asked Questions

What is considered a computer security incident?
A computer security incident within the U.S. Federal Government is defined by CISA and the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology as a violation or imminent threat of violation of computer security policies, acceptable use policies, or standard security practices.

How do I report an incident to CISA?
CISA offers secure web forms for users to report incidents, report indicators, report phishing, and submit malware artifacts.

Does CISA have incident reporting guidelines available?
Yes, CISA's Incident Notification Guidelines provide guidance for submitting notifications to CISA.

What types of informational products does CISA offer? How do I sign up to receive these products?
CISA shares timely, actionable information to the broadest extent possible. Subscriptions are available to all users for the following products:

  • Current Activity entries provide up-to-date information about high-impact types of security activity affecting the community at large.
  • Alerts provide timely information about current security issues, vulnerabilities, and exploits.
  • Bulletins provide weekly summaries of new vulnerabilities. Patch information is provided when available.
  • Tips provide advice about common security issues for the general public.
  • Analysis Reports provide in-depth analysis on a new or evolving cyber threat.
  • Industrial Control Systems Alerts provide timely notification to critical infrastructure owners and operators concerning threats or activity with the potential to impact critical infrastructure computing networks.
  • Industrial Control Systems Advisories provide timely information about current industrial control systems (ICS) security issues, vulnerabilities, and exploits

To receive CISA products via email, visit the Mailing Lists and Feeds webpage. To receive CISA ICS products via email, visit the ICS Mailing Lists and Feeds webpage.

CISA also co-sponsors the NVD—the U.S. Government’s repository of standards-based vulnerability management data.


How do I report a vulnerability?


What happens if I share my information with CISA?
As a global information exchange hub, CISA bears a significant responsibility to protect the information we receive and to ensure we safeguard privacy, business confidentiality, civil rights, and civil liberties. We take this responsibility extremely seriously, and we do everything in our power to earn our stakeholders’ trust by maintaining the confidentiality of sensitive information.

CISA routinely leverages the information sharing Traffic Light Protocol (TLP). TLP is not a classification tool, rather an intuitive schema to guide distribution according to relative risk.

CISA also serves as the Federal Government’s capability and process for receiving cyber threat indicators and defensive measures from non-federal entities under the Cybersecurity Information Sharing Act of 2015. Non-federal entities sharing cyber threat indicators and defensive measures with CISA in compliance with CISA’s requirements are eligible for multiple protections spelled out in the Cybersecurity Information Sharing Act of 2015. These include


  • Liability protection for sharing cyber threat indicators;
  • Exemption from disclosure under state and federal disclosure laws, including the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA);
  • Exemption from state and federal regulatory uses; 
  • No waiver of applicable privileges, such as the attorney-client privilege; 
  • Treatment as commercial, financial, or proprietary information when so designated by the submitter;
  • Ex parte communications waiver; and 
  • Exemption from federal antitrust laws.


For more information, consult the Non-Federal Entity Sharing Guidance under the Cybersecurity Information Sharing Act of 2015, posted at https://www.us-cert.gov/ais.

In addition, entities can submit information for protection under the Critical Infrastructure Information Act of 2002. Once validated by DHS as Protected Critical Infrastructure Information (PCII), this information is protected from

  • Exemption from disclosure under state and federal disclosure laws, including FOIA;
  • Protection from use in regulatory actions; and
  • Protection from use in civil litigation.

Only trained and certified federal, state, and local government employees or contractors may access PCII and only in accordance with strict safeguarding and handling requirements. In all instances, CISA prioritizes the security and privacy of information when sharing with its partners.     


Who are CISA’s partners?
CISA exchanges information across the global cybersecurity and critical infrastructure community to improve the security of the Nation’s critical infrastructure and the systems and assets on which Americans depend. Partners with whom CISA may share anonymized information include U.S. federal agencies; private sector organizations; the research community; state, local, tribal, and territorial governments; and international entities.